Home • News
View Archived News Articles
View Archived News Articles
Q&A: Part one -- Layton Surf 'n Swim
Article Published 06/17/2015
Layton City’s Surf ‘n Swim has been a unique recreational asset to the entire area since it opened back in 1985.
Located at 465 N. 275 East — north of City Hall and inside the Commons Park – it features 500,000 gallons of water and eight lap lanes. The wave action lasts 10 minutes (10 minutes on and 20 minutes off). The pool is outdoors, from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day. A bubble is added the rest of the year, creating a year-round aquatic facility.
Surf ‘n Swim offers a sloped, zero depth entry that's great for young children and goes to 8-feet-deep. In summer, there's also an adjoining 150,000-gallon outdoor pool. The maximum number of patrons for each pool combined is 950 people in the summer and 650 in the winter.
Q: What are the summer hours for Surf ‘n Swim?
A: Open wave time is seven days a week, noon-6:45 p.m.
Q: What are the admission costs?
A: Open wave costs are $4.50 a person, with children age three and under being free; and seniors are $3.
Q: What about group admission rates?
A: Birthday parties are welcome. Call for group rates. (The birthday person’s admission is free.)
Q: Can Surf ‘n Swim be rented for private parties?
A: Yes, seven days a week, from 7 p.m.-10 p.m. Call for prices. A deposit is required when booking.
Q: What about monthly or season passes?
A: The 20 Punch Pass for lap swimming and aerobics is $60; the cost is $80 for open wave, or $50 for seniors. Yearly passes for individuals are $225, or $375 for a family of up to 5 people. Each additional family member costs $30.
Q: What are age restrictions at Surf ‘n Swim?
A: Children, age 5 and under, must have an adult within arm’s reach at all times; Children, ages 6-8 may be in the water as long as an adult is supervising them from the water, or the pool deck; Children, age 9 or older, do not need an adult in the facility and may use Surf ‘n Swim without an adult present.
Q: What about infants and toddlers in the pool?
A: In accordance with Utah State Law, infants and toddlers, under the age of 3, must have two layers of swim diapers. This law also applies to any adults who cannot control their bowel. The Utah Code reads: “Any child under three years old, any child not toilet trained, and anyone who lacks control of defecation shall wear a water resistant swim diaper and waterproof swimwear. Swim diapers and waterproof swimwear shall have waist and leg openings fitted such that they are in contact with the waist or leg around the entire circumference.”
Q: What about swim suit restrictions?
A: Swimmers must wear appropriate swimming attire. This means no street clothes, no cutoffs, jeans, boxer shorts or underwear. However, T-shirts may be worn over/on top of a swim suit.
Q: Do swimmers really have to take a shower before leaving the dressing room?
A: Yes. A “cleansing shower” is required. This means cleaning the entire body surface – including removing any fecal matter that may wash off in the pool while swimming. The Utah Health Code states: “A bather using the facility must take a cleansing shower before entering the pool enclosure. A bather leaving the pool to use the toilet must take a second cleansing shower before returning to the pool enclosure.”
More Q&A in Part two ...