Home • News
View Archived News Articles

Part one: Layton’s historic and colorful street names

Article Published 10/17/2013

Layton City boasts intriguing street titles, some unique to the area and others grounded in mystery or history. 
Various long-time city street names have an important story to tell. Here are some such tales:
-There’s a romantic legend surrounding the Angel Street name. This tale involves an early settler who was in love with two women residing on the same road. Not being able to decide between the two, he referred to them as his "angels." Hence the street's eventual name, though it is also identified today as 1200 West in Layton. (Angel Street also continues south into Kaysville). Also, not legend is that a portion of the street became “sweeter” in about 1915, when a sugar beet factory opened along the road, just west of where the Smith’s offices/plant are located today. Soon, a small segment of Angel Street, just north of Gentile Street, became officially known as “Sugar Street.” The sugar factory was torn down in 1972 and an adjacent warehouse – its last solid memory – was demolished in 2001.
-Antelope Drive used to be called “Straw Street,” because it was a clay-based road in the 19th Century and had to have a lot of straw thrown on top of it to even make it passable. In the 20th Century, Antelope Drive (2000 North in Layton) became known as Syracuse Road. The Antelope title took hold in the late 1960s, when the state of Utah purchased Antelope Island and the highway was a straight shot to the causeway that was built to travel across the Great Salt Lake to that island.
-Hill Field Road, passing by the popular Layton Hills Mall, was referred to as “Easy Street” in pioneer times. The reason is unknown. The road was also proposed to be renamed Freedom Boulevard in 1991. UDOT even created new signs and installed a few prematurely in the summer, before the Layton City Council ended up voting 4-1 not to rename the busy highway after all.
-Mutton Hollow Road, near the Kaysville-Layton border is named after a former sheepherder who lived in that part of the city. 
-Layton also has a series of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John streets in its northwest area. Located just west of Main Street and south of Antelope Drive, these came about in the early 1960s when a subdivision was built there. Harris Adams, a veteran Layton resident and a historian was a member of the Layton City Council at the time and doesn't recall if they were ever said to hold any Biblical significance. However, he said federal housing officials didn’t care for the grid street layout that was first proposed for the area. So, the subdivision was changed so that the area streets curved to resemble a "bull's-eye" shape, much to the delight of the housing leaders (and the confusion of newcomers to that area).
To be continued in part two ...

SOURCES: “Layton” history book (1985), by the Kaysville-Layton Historical Society; Deseret News Archives; Harris Adams, Layton historian.